Dr. Riyaz Ahmed Scholarship Fund

Tigard, Oregon, USA ­ July 10th, 2017 - The Muslim Educational Trust is proud to announce the Thirteenth year of the Dr. Mohammed Riyaz Ahmed Scholarship Fund. The purpose of this scholarship fund is to commemorate Dr. Riyaz's years of public service and contribution to the growth of the American Muslim community in Portland, Oregon.

For the past 28 years, Dr. Riyaz Ahmed has benefited countless people and worthy projects with his generous support and inspiring leadership. The MET’s Dr. Riyaz Ahmed Scholarship Fund will help students, representing various area high schools and colleges or universities, receive scholarships and allow them to use these scholarships at the colleges and universities of their choice.

Dr. Riyaz Ahmed was born on July 7th, 1947 in K.G.F., Kolar District in Karnataka, India. He finished his high school degree in 1964 and was admitted to Banglore Medical School where he graduated in 1972 with a M.B.B.S. degree. He left for England in 1974 for further medical training. He married Dr. Zeenat Ahmed in 1975 in London, England. They moved to the USA in 1976 where Dr. Riyaz completed his medical and surgical training in obstetrics and gynecology at the Bronx Lebanon Hospital in New York. The family moved to Oregon in 1984.

Dr. Riyaz established his private practice in Portland. After a brief illness, he passed away on July 1st, 2001. Dr. Riyaz and Dr. Zeenat Ahmed have a son, Mohamed Anees Ahmed, who is a graduate of Reed College in Portland, Oregon and in 2011 graduated from medical school in Prague and is currently back in Portland pursuing a residency training position.

Please give generously to help continue the tradition of the MET Dr. Riyaz Scholarship Fund. Your contribution will make this fund grow and continue for future generations of American Muslim youth.

Donations to MET's Dr. Riyaz Ahmed Scholarship Fund can be sent to:

  C/O Muslim Educational Trust (MET)
  P.O. Box 283, Portland, OR 97207 USA

  Your donation is tax deductible.

How to apply for the scholarship fund?


  •  Fill out the application form. Please click HERE to download the form
  • Mail the completed Application form along with the following documents:
    • Sealed Transcript from High School/College (whichever is most current)
    • Copy of SAT Score verification
    • One Letter of Reference or Recommendation
    • Two Essays (choice of 2 from topics listed in application form)

How to Submit your application?

Sign and submit your application and documents by July 28th, 2017 in one of the following ways:

  • Deliver to MET: 10330 SW Scholls Ferry Road, Tigard, OR 97223
  • Email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Mail to MET, P.O. Box 283, Portland, OR 97207

Dr. Mohammed Riyaz Ahmed Scholarship Recipients

Ibrahem Al-Jilani - Bachelors of Science in Computer Science, OSU

Omar Sheikh - Bachelors of Science in Engineering, OSU

Holly Copenhagen - Masters in Sports Science, Pacific University

Nadia Sheikh - Bachelors of Arts in Journalism, George Town University

Imran Syed Haider - Masters of Public Administration, PSU

Amatullah Hussein - Masters in Education, PSU

Hedaya Alattar - Bachelors of Science in Nursing, PCC

Emaan Khan - Bachelors of Science in Biology, OSU

Imam Abdullah Polovina - Masters in Transformational Leadership, Seattle University

Mohamed Amin - Bachelors of Science in Computer Science, Portland State University

Ameena Alattar - Bachelors of Science in Psychology, Portland State University

Manar Alattar - Masters in Biology, Portland State University

Summer Rife - Bachelors of Arts in Liberal Arts, Oregon State University

Ahmed Aissi - Bachelors of Science, Portland State University

Sanaa Saifan - Masters in School Administration, Lewis & Clark College

Haroun Khalid - Masters in Health Management, Portland State University

Yasmine Sukhun - Bachelors of Communications, Portland State University

Michelle Rintelman - Masters in Public Health, Portland State University

Nadia Sheikh - Bachelor of Journalism, George Town University